Congratulations to the graduating class of 2006

DPT Class of 2006


Graduation Day Celebrations

Graduation Day celebrations were marked by beautiful weather, excited graduates, proud families and faculty and a new “tradition” – for the first time, our students graduated in hoods and gowns accented with teal, official color of the Doctor of Physical Therapy degree.

The faculty were pleased to honor several students for their outstanding accomplishments while at Emory.


Elizabeth Killian


Amanda McGinnis

The Service Award was given to Elizabeth Killian and Amanda McGinnis for the superb work they did co-chairing the annual PT Student Golf Tournament. The Golf Tournament is the primary event in the students’ fundraising for the Foundation for Physical Therapy. Beth and Amanda, and many many other students in the program, worked hard to make the golf tournament not only fun but successful as a fund raiser – the Emory students have been awarded an Honorable Mention by the Foundation in recognition of their achievement.

benjamin-braxleyThe Leadership Award was presented to an individual who demonstrated outstanding leadership in several arenas – as President of the Class of 2006 and as the 2004 President of the Student Assembly of the APTA – Benjamin Braxley.


Three newly named awards were also presented this year. Johnnie Morgan retired from her position as ACCE in the fall of 2005 and the faculty wished to honor her incredible contributions to the PT Program with an award in her name. The Johnnie Morgan Award for Excellence in Clinical Science was awarded to Jeffrey Ryg. Jeff was notable, amongst all our outstanding students, as demonstrating the qualities that are found in the best of all clinicians – compassion, communication, and the ability to employ the art and the science of physical therapy with all patients.

katie-bannisterIn the spring of 2006, Pamela Catlin retired from the faculty of the Division of Physical Therapy, Emory University. It is impossible to sufficiently thank and acknowledge someone who was the foundation of the PT Program but the faculty wished to honor Dr. Catlin by creating an award in her name. What better than an award for scientific inquiry? The Pamela A. Catlin Award for Excellence in Research was awarded to Katie Bannister. Katie demonstrated the passion, commitment, knowledge and organization necessary for success in research.

janet-kindschuhThe Director’s Award for Academic Excellence was awarded this year to Janet Kindschuh. Janet, the class Valedictorian, had a 4.0 average, an unbelievable achievement. Only her classmates can fully comprehend what that means – 122 credit hours across the three years of the program – basic sciences, IPR, the HSM series, clinical sciences, research and the affiliations! Janet is certainly to be applauded for this achievement.